about me · food

Deja vu

This is a difficult post to write. I’ve put it off for over a week now, not really knowing how to start, what to include, whether to post at all.

For the second summer in a row, I’m without a job. There were so many factors outside of my control, outside line managers’ control. It all happened so quickly. But I need to acknowledge that I was naive. Fool me once, right? I knew I was on a fixed term contract, but somehow when multiple of your superiors tell you that you have “nothing to worry about” for next year, you don’t doubt them.

But that’s enough of that.

I was lucky enough to set off on a two week camping holiday the day after my job ended, which kept my mind off it. Since coming back I have been sad, but I think I am more sad about leaving a workplace that I genuinely loved, rather than being sad about unemployment in general. We got through this before, we’ll do it again.

So.

What has been happening with our budget since I effectively abandoned the blog in December (sorry)? Well despite the fact my income was still very low, we didn’t manage to stick to such a strict budget. Our food budget more than doubled (+£80/month), we joined a gym (+£30/month), Liv joined a ‘diet club’ (+£20/month), we travelled more, we bought more junk we didn’t need… All of that has come to a stop.

  • The gym membership will run out at the end of August
  • Liv will stop going to SW when her prepayment runs out
  • we are back on our shopping budget (£21/week)
  • Serious money saving going on with fuel and water
  • Liv got a bike for work
  • We got new library cards
  • For non-budget reasons, doggo has been returned to brother-in-law – bittersweet but will save some ££

Our shopping for last week was £25, as we needed to re-fill the cupboards after the holiday. We managed to get a lot of British veg from Aldi, and then found a bunch of reduced stuff at Tesco too. Overall a good haul. Best meal of the week was a Tom Kha and tofu soup!

  • Frozen beans
  • Frozen peas
  • Spring greens
  • garlic baguette
  • carrots
  • blackcurrant squash
  • romaine lettuce
  • kale
  • cauliflower
  • cucumber
  • mixed peppers
  • leeks
  • apples
  • potatoes
  • bananas
  • parsnips
  • onions
  • mushrooms
  • baked beans
  • tomatoes
  • satsumas
  • mint chocolate bar
  • courgettes
  • chickpeas
  • tinned tomatoes
  • kidney beans
  • pasta
  • tomato puree
  • lemonade
  • sugar
  • soya milk
  • PLUS reduced veg from Tesco (I lost the receipt before writing this, oops)

1817shopping.jpg

This weeks shopping coming in the next post.

B x

7 thoughts on “Deja vu

  1. Not sure whereabouts you are, but if you’re in the North west (eg Manchester, Lancashire etc) we’ve got plenty of store cupboard stuff that isn’t getting used up and we’d be happy to pass on to someone who can make something with it. Specifically, stuff like rice, pasta, grains etc but also some baking ingredients too. Just email me or leave a message on my site and we’ll sort it out immediately.

    Like

  2. Isn’t life strange? I hope that you are able to keep your spirits up. One door closes, another opens, yadda yadda, but for real, that is such a bummer. I am impressed with your list! That’s fantastic!

    Like

  3. Sorry to hear that you are falling on hard times again. I work and still struggle, so I know how it feels. Never heard of the soup, must look that one up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

