food · Uncategorized

57p Peach Sponge Cake

So the people have spoken via the facebook poll… peach cake it is! (Have you no sense of romance, dear readers?? Alas, date night ideas will have to be another blog post)

So this coming week is Mama Vegan’s birthday, and we wanted to take her a cake this weekend! Mama, if you’re reading this, you already know I’m a cheapskate. Love you!

So this is something my sister told me about, apparently it has been making its way around social media and, according to one keen follower, is called a ‘dump cake’. Unappetising as that sounds, it’s basically because you just dump the ingredients in a bowl and be done with it!

The two magic ingredients are a value tin of peaches in syrup (I chopped mine up) and a value sponge mix.

cakemix

Nice and simple – add the peaches and syrup to the mix, stir until well combined as cake batter.

Bake in a small tin – I used a 6 inch, which is smaller than recommended by the packet – for around 30 minutes, or until the top is golden and a skewer comes out clean. I left ours in a bit too long as I was eating dinner, so the top and outer edge are a little overdone. If yours is not cooked through but browning too quickly, cover with foil to prevent burning.

cake

TA DA!

55p peach cake.

I can officially vouch for the deliciousness! It doesn’t need any topping as it is moist and sweet.

In the next few weeks I will see if it’s possible to replicate the cake mix with ingredients we already have at home, to shave even more off the price.

What’s your favourite budget dessert? (I’m really going to need to do this again and not burn it for a decent picture, aren’t I?)

B x

2 thoughts on “57p Peach Sponge Cake

  1. Yummy! I will try this out this weekend, have been having massive sweet cravings and this look so ideal for them 🙂 I usually make the lazy banana-oat cookies. Mix the two ingredients together, add sultanas or whatever and bake. Enjoy your mum’s bday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

